Commemorating Britain and Spain’s entangled histories: José Blanco White’s Liverpool memorial

Hispanic Britain, or, An Anglo-Spanish Miscellany

2013-09-11 10.27.50

I’ve been thinking hard about the ideal first post for this new space, but it was only when I went back to Liverpool last week and found myself retracing a very familiar walk, that I realised – of course! What better way to kick off my exploration of Hispanic Britain than by introducing you to the first example I ever saw of an actual, public commemoration of what Eliga H Gould has called the ‘entangled histories’ of Britain and Spain.*

I lived in Liverpool for nine years, between 2004 and 2013, and on every working day, my daily commute took me on a 15-minute walk up the hill from Central Station to the University campus. Normally I headed straight for my side of campus, but just occasionally, for variation, I’d linger along the broad curve of Mount Pleasant with its Georgian townhouses, looming gothic YMCA and the cluster of former…

Ver la entrada original 1.264 palabras más

Responder

